So…

I hate being a grown up. Like, what is it about turning 18 that makes you suddenly realize how unrealistically you’ve been living your life? Yes, Drama is amazing. yes, I want nothing more then to be on Broadway. But I know that probably won’t happen. When it comes down to it, talent is only part of the deal. I just haven’t had the advantages one needs to be successful in that line of work.  But I still want to do something creative. I’m not the kind of person that’s okay with a desk job, or working in an office. The first thing I think of when someone asks me about my future is (After tons of dirty sex with Johnny Depp) writing. It’s what I’ve wanted to do since I first learned how to read. I like acting because it’s an escape from reality. Being who ever you want is super appealing to me. And what better way to escape and be someone else then to create a whole world, one you control completely, irrefutably? I mean, what’s more creative then that? Creating an entire world on the back of a napkin, on the way to work, only to become crazy assed rich seems like a pretty sweet deal. When you think of good books, you think Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Chronicles of Narnia… Do you know how amazing it would be to write a series worth being listed with those???

And no, writing isn’t much more realistic then acting, but you don’t have to be skinny, or beautiful, or rich to write. All you have to do is be good at it, and not so naive to think that the first publisher you see will publish your work. Because publishers aren’t very good at judging what’s going to sell. Like, they thought Harry Potter wouldn’t be big at all! Ha. Right. 

Amber McLain isn’t a very good pen name, though. Hmm… I’ll work on it. Good thing EAC has a good English department, too! Creative Writing, here I come!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “So…

  1. Lena

    You go girlfriend! 😉 I will buy your books instead of borrowing them from other people, so that way you will make lots of money and take me places!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

